Harlingen Community Banker Elected to Independent Bankers Assn. of Texas Board of Directors

Michael Scaief with Texas Regional Bank Holds Leadership Position with Largest State Community Banking Association in the Nation


Austin, TX — The Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) is proud to announce the addition of Michael Scaief, chairman of Texas Regional Bank in Harlingen, to its board of directors for 2018-19. He was elected to this position during the association’s 44th annual convention held late September in San Antonio.

A Valley native, Scaief began his banking career in 1987 at First Valley Bank. For the next decade, he worked his way up to senior vice president, managing lending and operations. Soon after the bank sold to Norwest/Wells Fargo in 1998, Scaief left to pursue other interests. In 2008, he organized a group of Valley businessmen to explore establishing a new regional bank. In 2010, the group purchased a South Texas bank, changed the name to Texas Regional Bank and began operations. In addition to his current role as chairman of Texas Regional Bank, he also serves as chairman and president of Texas State Bankshares, Inc., the bank’s holding company.

Extremely active in his community, Scaief has held countless local board positions, including for the San Benito Industrial Foundation, Salvation Army, Valley Baptist Hospital and the Texas Wildlife Association. Additionally, he is past chairman of the Harlingen Industrial Foundation, City of San Benito Board of Adjustments and Appeals, and San Benito Chamber of Commerce. He served as president of the San Benito Rotary Club and vice chairman of the Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, where he currently sits on the board. He has also been an elder and session member of the First Presbyterian Church of San Benito.

Scaief received an economics degree from the University of Texas at Austin and is a graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University. Married with two children, Scaief enjoys the outdoors, especially at his ranch or on the water.

In his role on the IBAT board, Scaief joins Chairman Ronnie Miller of Community National Bank in Hondo, Chairman-Elect Richard Scanio of American Bank NA in Corpus Christi, Secretary-Treasurer Brad Tidwell of Citizens National Bank in Henderson and Immediate Past Chairman Joe Kim King of Texas Country Bancshares in Brady. Other additions to the board include Randy Garcia of Lytle State Bank in Lytle, Doak Hartley of Industry State Bank in Industry, Steve Retzloff of Allegiance Bank in Houston, Roger Williams of First National Bank in Sterling City and Mikel Williamson of Happy State Bank in Amarillo.

Austin-based IBAT represents more than 2,800 independent banks and branches in 700 Texas communities. Additional information about the new board of directors can be found at www.ibat.org.